Kits Coast Guard Station Closure

BC’s Conservative MP’s Feeling the Heat From Ottawa’s Decision

Local Conservative MP’s are getting a lot of heat from their constituents regarding coast guard cuts in British Columbia.

Last Thursday, JSCA Safety Chair, Mark Daigle and I met with BC ranking Conservative Member of Parliament, James Moore to voice our strong concerns regarding the proposed closure of the Kitsilano Coast Guard Station.

Mr. Moore told us that he has been following this situation very closely and I believe he has a very good understanding of the significance of the Kitsilano Coast Guard Station as the anchor of Vancouver’s marine safety network.

He is aware that a public safety cut of $900,000 that results in loss of life is not the most “fiscally responsible” decision his government can make in view of other Conservative spending priorities. ($28 million to commemorate the War of 1812).

Having said that, Mr. Moore and his local Conservative Colleagues must publicly toe the Party line and support the decision.

It is our hope that all BC Conservative MP’s recognize this grossly negligent and incompetent decision and find a way to convince Fisheries & Oceans Minister, Keith Ashfield, that saving Canadian lives is a priority and that he must reverse his decision to close the Kitsilano Coast Guard Station BEFORE lives are lost.

You can help keep the heat on by contacting local Conservative MP’s to share your opinion.

James Moore           Port Moody/Poco                                  James.Moore@parl.gc.ca

Randy Kamp            Pitt Meadows/Maple Ridge                   randy@randykamp.com

Andrew Saxton         North Vancouver                                   saxton.a@parl.gc.ca

Alice Wong               Richmond                                             alice.wong@parl.gc.ca

John Weston,            West Vancouver/Sunshine Coast       john.weston@parl.gc.ca

Wai Young                 Vancouver South                                  Wai.Young@parl.gc.ca

Mark Strahl                Chilliwack                                             mark.strahl@parl.gc.ca

Kerry Lynne Findlay    Delta                                                   Kerry-Lynne.Findlay@parl.gc.ca  

Mark Warawa             Langley                                               mark.warawa@parl.gc.ca

Russ Hiebert              S Surrey/ Cloverdale                          info@russhiebert.ca

Ed Fast                       Abbotsford                                         ed@edfast.ca

Nina Grewal                Fleetwood/ Port Kells                        nina.grewal@parl.gc.ca

Online Petition to Save Kits CCG Station Tops 3,900

If you haven’t signed the online petition to save the Kitsilano Coast Guard Station please take a moment to do so @:  http://www.change.org/petitions/department-of-fisheries-and-oceans-keep-the-kitsilano-coast-guard-station-open-2


Share

About admin0

A basic user.
This entry was posted in Ocean. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.